Bleakend

Okay okay my weekend wasn’t exactly bleak, but it wasn’t full of vim and vigor either. Saturday was, of course, a work day.  Sunday we tried to go swimming but the pool was absolutely seething with screaming children so that didn’t quite pan out.  Yesterday I decided we should probably go do something, so I dragged Zach to the Buford Highway Farmer’s Market.

We live within a couple miles of another farmer’s market, the strangely-named Your DeKalb Farmer’s Market.  It was my favorite store for years and years, scene of many first dates, and even the subject of an essay I had to write for a job application.  I used to go to the market with my dad every single Saturday when I was growing up, and when I’d bring my lunches to school in their tell-tale globe-emblazoned shopping bags, I’d get made fun of by other kids for shopping at the smelly store (to be fair, it does smell a lot like old fish, even to this day).  In present times, the market is well-known as an exotic food mecca.  A little too well-known, if you ask me, because it’s always packed to the brim with confused people who don’t know how to get the hell out of my way.  I haven’t stepped foot inside in months because it’s a guaranteed bad time.  It’s basically rush hour traffic, only with carts, and you don’t even get a horn to honk.

Since I can’t tolerate YDFM for more than a few minutes on a weekday right before closing, the Buford Highway market is my current true love.  It’s got all the charms of the closer store, but with less frustration and more cute packaging.  It doesn’t smell nearly as bad, the lighting isn’t as harsh, and they don’t have “NO PHOTOGRAPHY” signs everywhere, making it a much better blog subject.

I got dressed for the first time all weekend to go to the store, and then I found the sriracha and it matched my outfit so I had to capture this moment and share it with you. Sriracha=life.  The dress was a ModCloth that I bought from the clothes swap group, and then it sat in my closet for a couple months.  I bought it back when I had red hair and never got around to wearing it before changing my hair color, so I kept avoiding it because I didn’t want it to clash with my head.  Which is a lot of overthinking about something literally no one else cares about, so I made myself take the tag off and wear the damn thing.  I had the red sash on hand from another dress and I felt sort of silly tying it on, especially when Zach started calling me “Sashy.”  The shoes are Miz Mooz and the earrings came from Burlington Coat Factory a long, long time ago.  Also, I have been shrinking down individual photos to 487 x 487 pixels but that seems real small for an outfit photo so how do you feel about this size?!  I don’t want my big fat face to be staring at you too hard, but I do want you to be able to actually see the details in the photo, so I welcome your input. Unless it’s mean.

IMG_3012

Moving right along, it’s time for me to tell you about what I’m wearing today, and then I have to go back to doing work.  Being a human is so hard, I don’t know why we all do it.

So you already know I’m in some clothing swap groups on Facebook, right?  Well I’m also in this group that calls itself a boutique but I’m fairly certain is just a woman who has a line on some good closeout deals and a lot of free time. She must have a relationship with ModCloth or maybe just with their vendors, because she frequently has items that are sold on ModCloth, only hers are way cheaper and occasionally damaged.  The items go quickly so even though I’ve been in the group for a few months, I just now ordered a couple things. I got a pair of shoes (which I haven’t decided how to wear yet.  I mean, on my feet obviously, but I can’t figure out what outfit they go with!) and this here skirt.  The shoes looked like they’d been worn, and the skirt had a stain on it so I think she must get returned items. Or maybe she just likes to wear stuff and stain it before sending it out, for the hell of it.  Jury’s still out.  The top is from Amazon, and so are the shoes.  I picked up these earrings at Paris on Ponce three years ago and I think I’ve worn them maybe one other time–these shits are heavy, and it turns out they don’t match very much stuff.

IMG_3043

Okay guys, we did it.  Blog complete.  Now we have 45 more minutes of work and then we’re on easy street.  Except for the part where we have to figure out what’s for dinner. I’m thinking a plate of whipped cream and a side of berries, but am open to suggestions.

2 thoughts on “Bleakend

  1. Pingback: Yawndry | clotheshog

  2. Pingback: Cryday | clotheshog

Leave a Reply

